Skip to content

A quick ketchup: Review..

March 14, 2012


Image source

Mushroom ketchup… Supposedly a British favorite, although everyone i ask seems to find this concept either disgusting or wrong. So i thought i would try it for myself.

First impressions are okay, i appreciate the nice bottle but I don’t know much that would make up for the tinged shade of sick which I am faced with. At first I was unsure of how to use it, can I dunk and dip? Or do I use it IN stuff like a casserole? Either way I’m a dipping kinda girl so go with this option.

This Mud coloured, textured uh… delight packs a pretty huge whollop, akin to worcestershire and soy sauce which was definitely not expected. Seeing as a hate mushrooms, I wasn’t sure if i could give this a fair review, but if i hate them and find it okay… if you like them you’re going to LOVE this.

Saucing the internet has also meant I’ve found some nifty ideas for how to use this thing. As i did you can simple dunk and dip, or apparently it makes a good spread for a posh sandwich, or a whirl in a blender and then added to a recipe. All in all I found straying from the red stuff a little difficult, and i assure you this will not replace my bottle of Heinz any time soon! My feet are strictly staying on tomato territory.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

